Helena Schools

Spotlight on Hawthorne Elementary

Fabulous Firsts

Hawthorne Elementary first graders have received a total of 305 new hardcover books since 2003 and the Helena Education Foundation enjoyed giving new books to the 2010 first graders in September. Special thanks to Deb Jacobsen for coordinating this program for every elementary school in Helena!

Carnival Classic

Hawthorne students, staff and parents have been involved in the Carnival Classic since it began in 2002.


Hawthorne Principal Deb Jacobsen has been an active participant in the Helena Education Foundation’s Leadership Institutes and Trading Places programs as well as Fabulous Firsts. In 2009, Dr. Jacobsen received the Helena Education Foundation “Let’s Talk about Great Teachers” award.

Great Ideas Grants

Hawthorne Elementary has received a total of $9,468 from the Helena Education Foundation’s Great Ideas Grant program.

  • 2002: “Ola! Elementary Spanish”, Jenny Moore
  • 2003: “Write On Workshop”, Christy Benning
  • 2004: “Pals”, Katy Wright
  • 2006: “Kids for Kids Audiobooks”, Katy Wright
  • 2008: “Voices”, Erika McMillin
  • 2009: “No Child Left Inside”, Christy Benning

Celebration of Excellence

The Helena Education Foundation has honored the following Hawthorne Distinguished Educators at the annual Celebration of Excellence:

  • Eric Lehman, 2011
  • Jenny Moore & Andree Anderberg, 2005
  • Sandi Smith and Sue Cravens, 2003